I arrived at JFK around 1:30 and went to check my bags. After waiting about 20 minutes, they began checking bags, and of course, mine were both overweight. I had to pay a small fee and then I went to find something to eat with Mom, Dad, and Joe. We ended up eating at a restaurant called The Palms bar and grill, it was pretty good! I got a grilled chicken sandwich with cheese, bacon, and avocado mayo. After that, we walked back to the bag check in where I found Lia and Katie. We walked down to security with our families and said our goodbyes. That was kinda rough, but it’s only four months, and that’s what Skype is for! We went through security and had to go through the body scanners. We laughed it off, and the lady had to squeeze Lia’s bun to make sure she wasn’t sneaking something through. We found that really funny, but not until we walked away, of course! We went to our terminal, and eventually the other Marist kids on our flight showed up. Our friends came and we were having a good time in the terminal! It was the three of us, plus Erica, Erin, and Dana. We bought water and sandwiches to bring on the plane (which I never actually ate, whoops) and eventually boarded. Upon boarding we were told that the trade winds were extremely high, and that our flight would only be about 5 and a half hours, but we could not land at Heathrow until “not a minute before six” so our flight was delayed an hour. We took off without problems and the flight began. Lia and I decided to watch “The Help” and it was really good. We were given a menu with choices for our meal, and we all decided to try the Penne with Spinach. Unfortunately, they were out of it when they got to us, so Katie opted for the Chicken Korma and rice… after seeing that, Lia and I opted for the Beef in Red Wine Sauce with mashies. They were okay. It kind of tasted like hospital food. It came with banana pudding which was pretty good. I also had a ginger ale, and that was odd. It was very gingery, and it was British. It said something about the Queen on the can. Oh those crazy Brits!
After the meal they turned the lights off, and we all decided we should try to sleep. We never got to sleep. Katie dozed off a little but as Lia and I were both about to fall asleep, they turned the lights on again! (About an hour and a half later. It was only about 11 or so East Coast time, so that’s why we weren’t tired!) The girl next to me was kinda big and taking over my space, so I was a little uncomfortable the whole ride. She was asleep for a lot of the flight and she was from Ireland! I bumped into her a lot, but she was in my way so too bad :P
After turning on the lights, they gave us breakfast. It was a croissant, orange juice, and strawberry ‘yoghurt’. I also had a coffee. I had wanted one earlier, but they decided to skip me after dinner. Sigh.
We arrived too early to London, as the winds were extremely, extremely strong. We had to circle the airport for a while, and they kept going up and down, which caused a whole lot of people to get sick. It was kinda gross. After what seemed like forever, we finally landed!
There was an adorable baby on our flight two rows ahead of us. She was very good the whole time and slept. She didn’t cry much, besides small cries and such. She always made a shriek or cry right before we’d go down or up a little.. what a smart baby! Unfortunately she got sick with the crazy landing too! But by the time we landed she was smiling again!
After our hectic ordeal with the driver, (they paged us on the airport speaker multiple times, and we paged him) we finally found him. He drove us to the Metrogate House to pick up our keys. He waited outside and then took us to our flat.
We helped each other carry the luggage up the stairs and found our room. Its at the end of the hallway, room E. We have our own bathroom. Its a little small but its fine for the three of us! There is a bunk bed and one separate bed, I have the single. The floors are squeaky, and if you out our window, you look into the Netherlands Embassy. So our curtains are closed.
We went to the Foundation House, which is our class building, to make copies of our passports and to pick up packets and books. We also had to pay for a reading pack. (Sorry!) Then we signed up for a 1PM tour of the area, and walked across the street to Starbucks. It is very different here, and their menu and food is not the same as back home. I got a Croque Monsieur sandwich, (which the lady called a Crocky Misser) with mustard that I tried to avoid. (Ew!) I also got a vanilla spice latte, which tasted like a hot vanilla bean frappe. Interesting to say the least!
The tour was kind of useless, as we were running on being awake for over 20 hours at that point, and we were getting really giggly and silly. They showed us the college (Imperial College Union) whose facilities we can use, and where our orientation is today. After that we went to the grocery store/super store to pick up a few things. I only bought a big water, a bag of pasta, a small jar of sauce, orange raspberry juice, and two boxes of Special K bars.. I’ll have to go back and get some more food. We walked home after that, and accidentally took the very very long route.
When we got home we unpacked and relaxed. Around 7 we had a meeting with our RLS in the building. They are basically RAs but have already graduated and this is a part time job. They live in flats 3 and 4 above us. There are about 16 girls and 2 boys in our flat. We have a few friends down the hall and everyone else seems to be pretty friendly, and we’re excited to actually go out and see London.
After our meeting, we all took showers. That was interesting… Our shower is in a tub and is about a foot to a foot and a half above the floor, making it a little hard to get in and out. The water pressure is also a little weak and goes out intermittently while you shower. But I already figured out how to continuously make it work. The building is very old and apparently there is Dubai royalty 2 flats down. I bet their water doesn’t lose pressure :)
Haven’t seen any Royals yet. Maybe today we’ll wander down the Kensington Palace and try to see Wills and Kate! Not sure if they are in town, so we’ll have to check it out.
The beds are okay, a little uncomfortable and strange but we’ll make due. We might buy a small pillow or something to make it more comfortable. We’re not sure where to go to buy things like that! Hopefully we are on our way to a normal sleeping schedule, as we all woke up around 6:15 and we’re wide awake! Some strange bird or bat or something was squawking and apparently there is construction going on right outside, it was loud yesterday but hasn’t started yet today.
Onward!